The history of Weigel Funeral Home and Cremation Service dates back to1881, when Hiram Lyon settled in Mandan, and purchased property once owned by Northern Pacific Railroad. Construction on his home, which is now the funeral home, was designed by a New York architect and copied after a Greek temple. The home was completed in 1904. The large white frame structure resembles a southern plantation house with its massive pillars along the front, extending to the side to form of a carriage driveway.
A number of features are unique to the house, including the foundation, which is a two and one-half feet thick field rock. The studs measured 2" x 6" and were covered with lath and plaster both inside and out. Builders used tongue-in-groove subsiding in a diagonal pattern on the outside wall to give the structure strength. All of the wood was hand cut and much of it had to be ordered specially for the home.
In 1907, the home was sold to Mr. and Mrs. George Bingenheimer, another of the Mandan's early residents. Mandan attorney, John and Nan Sullivan, the next owners, lived in the home with their four children from 1920 to 1944. In 1944, the home was sold to John and Mary Kennelly. Seven years later, the home was purchased by Paul and Magdalena Schaff, who lived in the home until they sold it to Hector and Margaret Hoenig in 1956, when it was remodeled to be used as a funeral home.
The home was remodeled in the 1980's and most recently in 2011. A total of 1,700 square feet was added at this time, and attention was given to maintaining the atmosphere of a residential home to retain the warm, informal surroundings.