National Resources

Traumatic Grief/Death by Suicide

The Center for Complicated Grief: http://complicatedgrief.org/complicated-grief/

ACCESS: www.accesshelp.org
Aircraft Casuality Emotional Support Service

Wings of Light: www.wingsoflight.org
For those whose lives have been touched by aircraft accidents

National Fallen Firefighters Association: www.firehero.org/resources/family-resources/programs/fire-service-survivors-network

Drowning Support Network: drowningsupportnetwork.wordpress.com

American Association of Suicideology: www.suicidology.org
When a loved one dies by suicide

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention: www.afsp.org
When a loved one dies by suicide

Survivors of Suicide: www.survivorsofsuicide.com

  • National directory of suicide support groups
  • Poetry
  • Understanding suicide
  • Friends of survivors

Face to Face: www.facetofacefineart.org
Face to Face Fine Art Commemorative Expressions Inc. is a nonprofit organization that wishes to help ease suffering and aid in the grieving process by providing a lasting commemorative portrait that will honor and memorialize the deceased. The portraits, created by a talented trained artist are intended to assist individuals who have suffered a significant loss due to sudden, unexpected or tragic death.

Death of a Child

Compassionate Friends: www.compassionatefriends.com
Support for parents, grandparents, others when a child (of any age) dies

Pregnancy and Infant Loss: www.october15th.com

SHARE Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support Inc.: www.nationalshare.org

Alive Alone: www.alivealone.org
Support for childless parents

SIDS: www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/sudden-infant-death-syndrome

Center for Loss in Multiple Births: www.climb-support.org

  • Loss of twins
  • Loss to SIDS
  • Grandparent support
  • Sibling support
  • Friends and Relatives support

General Grief Support

The Center for Loss and Life Transition: www.centerforloss.com
Comprehensive support and care for children, adults and professional bereavement caregivers

American Hospice Foundation: americanhospice.org

  • Grieving children
  • Grief at School
  • Grief at Work
  • Working through Grief

Grief Digest Magazine: www.griefdigestmagazine.com

Living with Loss Magazine: Hope and Healing for the Body, Mind & Spirit: www.bereavementmag.com

Grief, Inc.: www.griefinc.com
Great collection of inspirational and often light-hearted readings and resources

Hospice Net: www.hospicenet.org/html/bereavement.html

Military

Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors, Inc.: www.taps.org/welcome
Death of loved one serving in the armed forces

Military One: http://www.militaryonesource.mil/family-and-relationships/casualty-assistance-and-surviving-loss

  • Casualty assistance
  • Surviving loss
  • Finances and Legal Assistance
  • Compensation and Survivor Benefits

National Institute for Trauma and Loss in Children (TLC): www.starr.org/training/tlc/military-resource-center
Information and links to free downloads for military families with children and teenagers

Children and Grief

National Alliance for Grieving Children: childrengrieve.org/

National Institute for Trauma and Loss in Children (TLC): www.starr.org/training/resources-for-parents
Grief and traumatic loss, age-specific, military families, books and resources

Center for Loss and Life Transition: www.centerforloss.com/bookstore/Grieving-Teens-Children
Resources for and about grieving children and teens

The Dougy Center: www.dougy.org/grief-resources/how-to-help-a-grieving-child

Hospice Net: www.hospicenet.org/html/child.html